The Anticipation

Original Post Date: April 2008.

Hello everyone it’s that time again. As a writer and most importantly as a friend I owe all an update. There are a few things I would like to say first. For all those of who’ve taken the time to read this deserves a huge thank you from me. I want to assure you your support is neither unnoticed nor unappreciated. It is you as an individual friend who will help me to achieve all my dreams and goals. I had a lot of feedback with my last email, which has inspired me to write more. I appreciate everyone’s honest responses and hope they will continue. Now with having that been said time to move on to my life.

I sit here staring at a page of letters searching for the words so well hidden, remembering the night I decided I wanted to be a writer. It was a week night during my junior year of high school. It was about the time when every teenager is to decide what they want to do for the rest of their life. It was a huge deal for someone of my decision making abilities, which were zilch. My father was lying in his bed reading an educational book of some sort. My future was something I thought a lot about but had no ideas. In hopes to receive some ideas I lay beside my father in my mother’s place and asked him what he thought I was good at. Like any good father he said “it’s not what I think it’s what you think”. He continued to ask me what the things I enjoy doing. Within the next hour I decided writing is what I enjoy, and with out knowing if I have the talent my mind was made up. It has been ever since.

As everyone may know I moved back to St. Louis to visit with my family before my big move out to Reno. The drive here was a beautiful three hour drive. The sun was brightly beaming through the windows. The roads were finally clear of the soft brown snow which laid there for days before. I thought to myself I couldn’t have chosen a more perfect day to drive. The drive went fast and my anticipation of being home had finally subsided. My mother greeted me the best she could considering how busy she was with work. The day after my arrival I drove to a YMCA I was part of a few years ago to see about catching a few hours. It turns out the Director is an old co-worker of mine and she hired me on the spot. It’s not always what you know, but who you know. I am firm believer in that philosophy. I don’t really know what it is that attracts me to the YMCA but I always seem to come back to it.  Maybe it’s the sense of self-worth helping those who need it and supporting those who don’t.  Maybe it’s the values the YMCA holds of caring, honesty, respect, and responsibility. It might also be for me the history.

Let me explain:

It was my father who worked there years ago and who got me the job when I was 16 years old.  Aside from swimming it’s that one other thing I feel I have a close connection with my father.  We share the passions of the YMCA and what it means. And now all I have left of my father are those connections.

With that said, my move to Reno, NV is less than two weeks approaching.  Excitement and anticipation has begun to take my body whole. Finding a place to live and making plans of what I will do with my time while I’m there has begun to overwhelm me. I don’t fear, however, for I know everything will fall in to place. After all, life goes on, we have no choice.

Leave a Reply

